Job shop scheduling

I am studying the mixed-integer linear programming formulation for the job shop with makespan minimization proposed by Manne (see Equations (1)-(7) from Ku and Beck (2016) http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.cor.2016.04.006, and my implementation is wrong.

Concerning this test instance:
http://jobshop.jjvh.nl/instance.php?instance_id=6
the optimal solution is 55, but my model returns 56. I cannot identify the error.

@variable(model, x[j in 1:N, i in 1:M] >=0)
@variable(model, z[j in 1:N-1, k in j+1:N, i in 1:M], Bin)
@variable(model, Cmax >=0)
@objective(model, Min, Cmax)
@constraint(model, [j in 1:N,h in 2:M], x[j,O[j,h]] >= x[j,O[j,h-1]] + P[j,O[j,h-1]])
@constraint(model, [j in 1:N-1, k in j+1:N, i in 1:M], x[j,i] >= x[k,i] + P[k,i] - V * z[j,k,i])
@constraint(model, [j in 1:N-1, k in j+1:N, i in 1:M], x[k,i] >= x[j,i] + P[j,i] - V * (1 - z[j,k,i]))
@constraint(model, [j in 1:N], Cmax >= x[j,O[j,M]] + P[j,O[j,M]])

Nothing immediately stands out as wrong, but it’s hard to tell without the data etc.

You should take a read of: Please read: make it easier to help you. It’s easier to help if you can provide a reproducible example that people can copy and paste into their REPL.

Debugging incorrect results can be difficult. See the suggestions in Debugging · JuMP

If it’s off by one for every instance, there’s likely a bug in your model. If it’s just wrong for this instance, then there’s likely a typo in the data that you’re using.

1 Like

Dear Oscar, thank you very much for your attention. The results are different from optimal for several test instances. I have copied the data from the site. For some small-sized test instances (2 or 3 machines), the results from the model are correct. For problems with more machines, the results are wrong. I printed the model, and I did not found any error.

I am sending the source code:

using DelimitedFiles, JuMP, CPLEX 
P = [1 	3 	6 	7 	3 	6;
     8 	5 	10 	10 	10 	4;
     5 	4 	8 	9 	1 	7;
     5 	5 	5 	3 	8 	9;