Is there a way to return from a function from within a thread?

I have a function that does a @threads loop. There is a condition that gets evaluated inside the loop. If the condition returns false, there’s no point in continuing any of the work; I’d like to just return false:

function foo(x, y, z)
    nt = nthreads()
    @threads for i in 1:nt 
        result = do_conditional(x, y, z)
        if !result # I want to just return false from the function right away, terminating all the other threads
    end # @threads
end # function
1 Like

If anyone has thought about an API for this, it’s probably @tkf in the context of Transducers.jl. I know he’s implemented early termination for foldl but I’m not sure about multi-threaded functions.

1 Like

This requires thread synchronization in any case and you can do that yourself with an Atomic .

Yeah, I used Atomic to do that (in reduce, not foldl, actually).

I am quite new to Atomic so I guess I am missing the point here. For example, how would I make this contrived example work with atomics?

function want_to_return_early(n, m)
  @threads for  i in 1:n
      if n == m
         return true
      end
   end
   return false
end

Just to be clear, it’s not possible to terminate @threads for early, at least for now. You need to build @threads-like iteration support on top of @spawn for this.

If you are curious, I think the simplest example code is Threads.foreach:
https://github.com/JuliaLang/julia/pull/34543/files#diff-c3a80cb045a6bb5c1884c379f4fab047

But, if you just want to use something like a for loop without implementing it, you can also just use Transducers.jl. If you have a sequential version

y = nothing
for x in xs
    z = process(x)
    if should_terminate(z)
        y = z
        break
    end
end

then the parallel version is

reduce(Map(identity), xs; init = nothing) do _, x
    y = process(x)
    if should_terminate(y)
        return Reduce(y)  # equivalent to `break`
    else
        return nothing
    end