Is there a way to detect and automatically fix type-unstable code?

E.g. lets say you do:

julia> if x % 2 == 0
         x/2
       else
         2x
       end

I believe there is a macro to check, I forget which, but could a macro “conform” the type of both code paths, i.e. here to Float64 (as it’s an (almost) superset)? I think a macro could do it, I’m not sure, as I’m not good with writing macros yet. That would be a step in the right direction, and even better if the compiler could do it automatically for you.

A first step might be to just give you a Union of both types, whatever they are.

That’s just an example, I just used one with a Float64, as more likely do happen in practice (and I know of div, another solution). I’m just thinking this could be a bit problematic for my solution here (there only involving integers):

Note, there I think I resolved all the issues, at least outlined the loop problem in the end. There are no showstoppers there, including this type-instability problem (while annoying and potentially slowing down, not a safety problem).

The macro to check is @code_warntype.

julia> function f(x)
       if x % 2 == 0
                x/2
              else
                2x
              end
       end
f (generic function with 1 method)

julia> @code_warntype f(4)
Variables
  #self#::Core.Const(f)
  x::Int64

Body::Union{Float64, Int64}
1 ─ %1 = (x % 2)::Int64
│   %2 = (%1 == 0)::Bool
└──      goto #3 if not %2
2 ─ %4 = (x / 2)::Float64
└──      return %4
3 ─ %6 = (2 * x)::Int64
└──      return %6
1 Like

no, Numba does this, but it distorts the user intention so I don’t think it’s a good thing

1 Like

You mean Numba does this automatically (without a macro since Python doesn’t have macros), not that a macro in Julia couldn’t be implemented, only that you don’t want it?