Is there a simple way to parallelize or distribute a function call that updates a local variable within a loop?

Hi!

I am working on implementing the hill-climbing algorithm to solve the one-dimensional bin packing problem but I got to a bottleneck. The function, which I called main for lack of a better name, repeats the same set of actions until the number of attempts has been consumed or if it has found the optimum which is given beforehand as part of an instance.

I want to know if this type of looping can be performed in parallel or distributed. And if so, is there a simple way to implement it? I have zero experience doing things in parallel and distributed :cry: . The idea is simple, loop and replace If the current “solution” at the current attempt is better than the better one found at the moment, if the optimal “solution” has been found then stop, continue otherwise.

function main(instance::BPPInstance, attempts::Int; earlybreak = false)
    # Objective function
    f(x) = sum(λ -> (λ.fullness)^2, x)
    # First attempt:
    # Get a random sorting of the bins, then search the search space, and then compute the score!!!
    bestbins = randomsort_bins(instance)
    climb!(bestbins, instance.item_weights, instance.bin_capacity)
    fbest = f(bestbins)
    bins_count = length(bestbins)
    # Remaining attempts
    for attempt in 2:attempts
        # Return the found configuration early and the attempts made to find it
        if earlybreak && bins_count == instance.optimal_solution
            return bestbins, attempt
        end
        # Get a random sorting of the bins, then search the search space, and then compute the score!!!
        bins = randomsort_bins(instance)
        climb!(bins, instance.item_weights, instance.bin_capacity)
        fbins = f(bins)
        if fbins > fbest
            bestbins = bins
            fbest = fbins
            bins_count = length(bestbins)
        end
    end
    return bestbins, attempts
end