Is the increasing slowness of LLVM compilation a worry?

I have heard many-a-times that LLVM is slow when it comes to compilation; I heard it in relations to why Go did not choose LLVM, and Rust having long compilation times, and this video where Jeff Bezanson talks about LLVM being slow.

I have no knowledge of compilers and I didn’t understand all the content in the video so I can’t comment on a technical perspective but does this mean that Julia will get slower and slower in the compilation if it continues to use LLVM?

Will this make Julia less and less like a dynamic language like Python and R?

I picture this in the future, I write a function, the first time it runs it takes 10 seconds, because of compilation. Afterward that it’s fast but the initial 10 seconds is going to be a pain. People will start talking about Julia as a “slow” language or that it’s a pretend-dynamic language as it’s actually almost the same as an AOT language given the compilation time.

I have come to love the Julia language for its performance and I am not sure if I should get worried about my version of the future actually happening? Can anyone in the know clarify this? Thanks!

2 Likes

On a reasonably recent computer, 10s compilation times are very long for a single function. Can you provide an example? For me, multiple packages precompile in a few seconds after a Pkg.update() (which, admittedly, I do daily). To get 10s+ compilation times, I need to use complex ecosystems like Plots.jl.

@Tamas_Papp Just an exaggeration but say it takes a bit of time, that is noticably longer than Python or R. It’s a “vision” from the future, one of the possibilities.

No, this is nothing you have to worry about.

This is just FUD. Give the creators of the amazing Julia language a bit more credit than that they will let the user experience be that bad.