Is Julia suitable to analyze the results of astrophysical simulations?

Hi everyone!

I am here to ask you your opinion. I am a PhD student and I’ve started using Julia as my main programming language in my research. I am very happy about it, despite the fact that my usage of Julia is far from deep (I come from C and MATLAB, to give you an idea of my coding background).

My supervisor teaches a course in Galactic Dynamics which consists in running some simulations with a C code and analyze the results. At the moment, the first week of the course covers the basis of Python to show how to read the snapshots / outputs of the simulations (plain text) and how to draw plots.

He asked me three questions:

*Do you think Julia will replace python for this kind of analysis?
*Do you think that switching to Julia would help the students that will look for a job?
*Should we use Julia in the course?

I have my answers, but I am very interested in what you Julia experts & users think about this and what are your answers to these questions.

1 Like

My very breif answers are yes, no, and maybe. Julia is quite good for this use case (see https://github.com/jeff-regier/Celeste.jl), but it’s still not the established tool for the job.

7 Likes

Thanks for the link! I know it’s hard, but maybe you have an idea about it based on the recent growth of the community; how long will it take before Julia becomes the standard tool for these tasks?

It will never become the standard tool if everyone waits to adopt it until becomes the standard tool.

12 Likes

Probably the answer depends on what you want to analyze. If there is some package that does exactly what you need, it is better (unless for learning purposes), stick to the package.