Is it appropriate to say a variable is a label or box?

I’m new to Julia, but not to programming, so to help me learn, I’m writing some notes and training material.

While reading Python Crash Course, the author describes a variable as:

Variables are often described as boxes you can store values in. This idea can be helpful the first few times you use a variable, but it isn’t an accurate way to describe how variables are interpreted in Python. It’s much better to think of variables as labels you can assign to values. You can also say a variable references a certain value.

This site also says the same:

If you imagine that variables are like boxes, you cannot make sense of assignment in Python. For an assignment, you must always read the right-hand side first: that’s where the object is created or retrieved. After that, the variable on the left is bound to the object, like a label stuck to it. Just forget about the boxes.

I’ve used Python for sometime now, and I’ve always thought variables are containers or boxes for values. This video also uses the box metaphor to describe variables.

In Julia, what is the correct way to interpret variables, labels or boxes ?

Labels.

7 Likes

Yeah, I also like the label analogy. I think it helps clarify that y = x doesn’t do anything other than associate the name :y with the current value of x.

The good news is that if you’re used to Python’s variable semantics, you should find that Julia’s behavior generally matches your expectations. In both Julia and python, doing y = x; y = z never changes x in any way-- it just attaches the :y label to a new value. Likewise in both Julia and Python, doing y[x] = z results in a function call that looks something like “set the x index of y to value z” and thus modifies the current value of y.

9 Likes