Intrusive Collections in Julia

Would intrusive collections modeled after the boost intrusive boost intrusive 1.75.0 collection be a useful addition for Julia. Does Julia already have mechanisms which make such collections superfluous.

Consider the advantages of intrusive collections from the linked page:

Intrusive containers can be used for highly optimized algorithms, where speed is a crucial issue and:

• additional memory management should be avoided.
  • the programmer needs to efficiently track the construction and destruction of objects.
  • exception safety, especially the no-throw guarantee, is needed.
  • the computation of an iterator to an element from a pointer or reference to that element should be a constant time operation.
  • it’s important to achieve a well-known worst-time system response.
  • localization of data (e.g. for cache hit optimization) leads to measurable effects.

I will post some experimental code (i am still learning the language) in the coming day, but wanted the community feedback to see if this is worth spending time on.

Thank you for reading.

From a first glance it seems that this library/concept aims to solve a specific C++ problem: STL performance issues.
If Julia suffers from similar problems I don’t know, AFAIK not too much in this direction was reported here.

What Julia doesn’t have (again AFAIK) in its standard library is something like “well-known worst-time system response” which was mentioned for boost.

1 Like

I am not entirely sure if this is possible in Julia, you can try writing code that does not allocate, and even disable the garbage collector, however, in many cases it is not possible (or desirable) to avoid all allocations or make them all before some barrier (i.e., preallocating everything, disabling GC, and then doing all the computation).

1 Like

This is not just to prevent GC. Actually the main advantage is removal of object from a collection with O(1) complexity.