Interpolation using $ with @cfunction in a macro reported as a closure, thus won't work on Apple Silicon

I’m still learning about macros and only recently learnt about closures. I am trying to use the ArchGDAL package on my Apple Silicon Macbook, but it reported an error during precompilation: ERROR: LoadError: cfunction: closures are not supported on this platform.

I have managed to isolate a MWE:

macro cplprogress(progressfunc)
    @cfunction($(esc(progressfunc)), Cint, (Cdouble, Cstring, Ptr{Cvoid}))
end

progressfunc = x -> x

@cplprogress(progressfunc)

This results in the following stacktrace:

ERROR: LoadError: cfunction: closures are not supported on this platform
Stacktrace:
 [1] var"@cplprogress"(__source__::LineNumberNode, __module__::Module, progressfunc::Any)
   @ Main ~/mwe.jl:2
in expression starting at /mwe.jl:7
in expression starting at /mwe.jl:7

From what I understand, the $ in the macro is not in fact indicating a closure, but is actually just interpolation for the macro?
Either way I would really appreciate some guidance to fixing it so the closure can be removed, or otherwise fixed!

Thanks in advance!

Julia: 1.7.1
CPU: M1 Pro
Arch: darwin-aarch64

1 Like

The ArchGDAL.jl package is apparently using this for the GDALProgressFunc callback API.

It seems like the solution is to change the Julia package to use the void* argument (pProgressArg) to pass the closure argument, rather than forcing Julia to compile a new callback for every progressfunc argument it wants to handle (which apparently isn’t supported on M1). That is, they should define something like:

function progressfunc_wrapper(dfComplete::Cdouble, pszMessage::Ptr{UInt8}, pProgressArg::Any)::Cint
    pszMessage == C_NULL && return pProgressArg(dfComplete)
    return pProgressArg(dfComplete, unsafe_string(pszMessage))
end
const progressfunc_wrapper_c = @cfunction(progressfunc_wrapper, Cint, (Cdouble, Cstring, Any))