Integrate Julia simulations in a web page with Javascript

Hello!

Disclaimer: I have very little experience with deploying web apps, so perhaps I am going about this totally wrong. Feel free to correct me if I’m thinking about this wrong :slight_smile:

Background:
I have some simulations that were done in Julia and I have been thinking of creating a webpage to easily share them interactively. This way people can play with the parameters of the simulations and see the outcomes. I’ve been trying to find a way of doing this using Julia.

Attempts at finding a solution:
I have looked at using the Genie.jl framework, but (unless I am doing something wrong) I realized that it’s a little slow to run interactive simulations on the server side. It is possible that my understanding of this ecosystem is too poor to see an immediate solution. As a last resort, I could probably get by with the simulations running on the backend.

I seem to understand that at the end of the day, fast interactive applications, such as games, end up running on the client side in Javascript.
So I’ve been looking into converting my Julia code to Javascript. I see there are some ways of transpiling Julia to Javascript, but it looks a little difficult to do reliably. Furthermore, in my simulations I extensively use the Julia package DifferentialEquations.jl, which I would assume is not easily convertible to Javascript.

Overall, my question is this: How can I make a fast interactive web app that plots the solution to a differential equation and updates to, say, sliders changing the values of the parameters of the differential equations? Is there any way to use my work already existing in Julia? Or should I basically rewrite it in Javascript?

Thanks in advance!

have you tried Pluto?

There’s the new Genie Builder tools which should make this easy. Check out their ODE demo

I’ve seen some success with WGLMakie.jl and Bonito.jl:

Thanks for the help!