Increase perfomance for Gillespie Algorithm

I am relatively new to Julia and trying to implement a version of Gillespies Algorithm that can be used in population genetics.

I tried really hard to make it as fast and light weighted as possible, incorporating most of the performance tips from the Julia documentation. But despite my effort I seemed to achive the exact opposite: A very slow and memory gulping algorithm.

Unfortunately I was not even able to isolate the problem. Therefore I am very happy if anyone is interested in investing the time to look over my code and point out the memory and speed killer I implemented. Or if anyone can hand me some tools or literature that enables me to isolate the problem myselfe.

You can find all the code including some working (but slow) examples in the following git repository:

https://github.com/roccminton/Gillespie_Algorithm

Many thanks in advance for any help!

1 Like

Unfortunately, the link leads to a 404 page

Posting a link to a private repsoitory is not very clever. Sorry for that. I changed the visibility to public. Does the link work now.

1 Like

Yes it works now :+1:

1 Like

Can you profile this and figure out what is taking time? Debugging performance of MWEs is much easier than a full repo.

The only example working for me on 1.8.0 seems to be Examples\RandomMating.jl. Is that what you are after?

I fixed the bugs making the other examples not work, but indeed the Examples\RandomMating.jl is the most interesting example for me.

Try to profile for example the function DiploidModel.rungillespie(t,x0,model_parameter) in the file Examples\RandomMating.jl (in line 28). I did as well but was unable to get helpful information out of the print output.

After disabling ProgressMeter and Plots and putting the test into a function like so

function test()

K = 1000

b = 1.0
        d = 0.9
        c = (b-d)/(2K)

dni = 0.1
        N = 10

model_parameter = (
                birth = b,
                death = d,