Improving the Julia issue tracker

Hello!

This post has (in part) come to be due to a general feeling of the issue tracker for julia being a little hard to work with as a non-core developer or absolute beginner, wishing to contribute. The goal of this post is to

• Identify problems users have with the way the current issue tracker functions
  • Figure out how we can improve the experience for contributors
  • Fix more issues that people are running hitting, that may languish for a while

At the moment, opening an issue presents us with the following view:

This is, in my opinion, quite bad. It’s a wall of text that few people seem to read (judging by the number of new issues created that don’t have a versioninfo() attached) and those who do can only get the bare minimum out of it. Since there’s no distinct format for new issues, it’s also hard for newcomers that maybe want to help out to figure out what the problem (if any) even is. Further, new issues by default are not labelled at all, leading to loads and loads of issues that are just never assigned any label at all (at the moment, 1056 open issues exist that have no label at all, 146 of which were opened since the release of 1.7.2).

What’s worse though is that of those issues that do have a label, most seem to just… sit there. Some get someone who reproduces the issue or get some acknowledgement, some are fixed with PRs - but over all the majority of new issues that are not trivially closeable (mostly due to belonging on discourse in the first place - another point towards the “wall of text” being a bad first hit) just seem to languish. I don’t have numbers for this, but looking through the monthly repo insights and looking at the issues that are closed vs. those that are opened, as well as the PRs that get merged, certainly paints a picture of only the most critical things being fixed.

One way this could be improved in part would be to make use of issue templates:

(I hope that link works.)