Implementing parallel computing in finite element problems

Hi all,

I am very new to parallel programming, and relatively new to Julia. I have a spectral element code (higher order finite element) for numerical simulation of earthquakes, that I wish to parallelize.

I have read the manual, and I understand the usage of individual macros such as @spawn, @parallel for, etc, but I do not know the workflow for implementing it on a larger code.

My pseudocode looks like this:

1. define parameters.
  2. setup (meshing, boundary conditions, etc)
while time < t_max:

# Some simple vectorized computations

# A conjugate gradient function to invert matrix

# Some other vectorized computations

# a series of for loops for element-wise computations

# Save output variables

# Compute the next timestep

end while

It is a 2D code, but takes like 70-80 hours to compute with a decent resolution (on a laptop). I have looked at each section of code, and the conjugate gradient takes the maximum time to compute, followed by the for loops. The conjugate gradient has some nested loops which I cannot avoid for now.

My question is:

1. Is it enough to just have @parallel for loops in the entire code to improve performance? Or is it possible to have the time loop also parallelized?

2. Should I be looking at MPI instead of Julia’s inbuilt macros for this kind of problem?

I know I have not given a whole lot of information, so here is the main function of my actual code:
https://github.com/thehalfspace/JuliaSEM/blob/develop/src/main.jl

It is kind of messy, sorry for that.

Any tips, pointers, ideas would be really helpful!

Thanks,
Prithvi

Disclaimer: I have not written distributed FEM code before, but I may very soon.

A few points that you may find useful:

1. The conjugate gradient is defined in IterativeSolvers.jl.