Implementing Object Methods and Events?

I’m completely new to Julia (started learning it in my off-time a week ago), and one thing that I’ve had a LOT of trouble finding documentation about is Objects, Methods and Events. By a lot of trouble, what I mean is that I can’t really find anything.

For reference, I’m coming from VB/C# – where you can essentially just do, for example, a class “car” with a method “vroom”, and then you’d declare something like “var X = new Car(); X.vroom()”.
I haven’t really found much similar for Julia, which is a little troubling, since so many things are made easier through objects and become extremely difficult to do without proper object implementation. Similarly, I couldn’t find much on Events (like for example if I have a text area, I can have a handler for a Keypress event so that if someone presses a key, and EventArgs.KeyChar = 1 → do some code, so I can prevent someone from entering, say, a letter in a number field and vice versa).

This is pretty troubling for me because not having access to objects would just make everything so, so much harder for anything beyond small projects. Is there documentation I’ve missed or something?

Those are both concepts from Object Oriented Programming, which Julia doesn’t subscribe to. But don’t worry, they aren’t as important as you think they are.

In most languages I’ve worked with, obj.method(x) is just a convenience for method(obj, x). In single dispatch this makes sense, because the first argument is more important than the second. But Julia has multiple dispatch, so which method is called depends on the typeof both obj and x. In short, just define function(obj, x), you’ll be fine.

When it comes to events, that’s just a function that is called at a specific moment, right? I’m sure whichever GUI framework you use has a guide on how theirs work.

Edit: