Implementing finite difference with periodic B.C

I am pretty new to Julia and ultimately I want to transfer my python code for solving a nonlinear PDE into Julia (and see whether I can get the speedup I hope).

The PDE I want to solve is similar to a nonlinear heat equation. In python I have a function which computes dh/dt. I use the method of lines to discretize the vector h(x,t) in spatial domain, and then use a stiff ODE solver scipy.integrate.solve_ivp(… method=‘BDF’) to solve the PDE. I am trying to adopt a similar approach in Julia with the DifferentialEquations.jl package.

The first step I need to do is to figure out a way to implement numerical differentiation using finite difference (I need first and third derivative, with either 2nd or 4th order accuracy) with periodic boundary condition applied to both ends of the vector. I have the following four versions of codes:

function ndiff1(u::AbstractVector, n::Integer, order::Integer, dx::Float64)
    Nx = length(u)
    if n==1
        if order==2
            du = 0.5*(circshift(u,-1) - circshift(u,1))
        elseif order==4
            du = (circshift(u,2) - circshift(u,-2) + 8*(circshift(u,-1) - circshift(u,1)))/12.0
        end
    elseif n==3
       # similar to above with just different stencils
    end
    dudx = du/dx^n
    return dudx
end

function ndiff2(u::AbstractVector, n::Integer, order::Integer, dx::Float64)
    Nx = length(u)
    dudx = similar(u)

if n==1
        if order==2
            for i = 2:Nx-1
                dudx[i] = 0.5*(u[i+1] - u[i-1])/dx
            end
            dudx[1] = 0.5*(u[2]-u[end])/dx
            dudx[end] = 0.5*(u[1]-u[end-1])/dx

elseif order==4
            # similar to above with different stencils
        end

elseif n==3
        # similar to above with different stencils
    end
    return dudx
end

using DiffEqOperators

const periodic_bc = PeriodicBC(Float64)
const D1_O2 = CenteredDifference(1, 2, dx, Nx)*periodic_bc