Implementing dedispersion in Julia

I am trying to write an implementation of a basic algorithm in pulsar astronomy: dedispersion. What this essentially boils down to is adding the rows of a two-dimensional matrix together, but we shift each row by some value. The lower the row, the more the shift. Note that the shift is not circular, and it does not increase linearly. I am still new to Julia, and so I programmed it in a way that looks more like C/C++ here. Is there a better/more idiomatic/more performant way to do this? Like having a view into the 2D array that shifts as it goes down?

I think your code looks like a good starting point. Memory access is contiguous, thats very nice.

One thing I noticed is, that while A is a matrix you always access it using linear indices e.g. A[(i + Δi) * nt + j]. Is there a reason for this?

To increase performance there are a couple of things you could try:

• Use @inbounds annotations
  • Use @simd annotation on your inner loop
  • Use @threads annotation on your outer loop

Also can you post a typical benchmark, so people can better play around with your code? I am not familiar with the algorithm and have no ideas what are typical sizes for the arguments.

I’d be careful with this, all threads would modify the same elements of B.

1 Like

You are right, if multi threading is desired one needs to do it differently. How exactly depends on typical sizes of A.

Some typical benchmarks are right there in the repository, in the bench directory. Unfortunately, I could not upload the file that I used to make that benchmark, because it was almost 20 GBs! But it should give you a fair idea of the kind of inputs I am trying to deal with.

As for the linear indexing for A, there is really no reason for it, except that I could not figure out how to do the same thing with Cartesian Indices :sweat_smile:.

I am looking for a very simple 10 lines copy pastable benchmark that gives me realistic eltypes and sizes. Like: