IDE for Julia

Hi,

I’m a complete Julia beginner. I just downloaded Julia 1.6.1 and I’d like to move my first steps with the language. My first task will be integrating the heat equation in a simple 2D domain (I’ll write a separate question for that). Which IDE do you suggest me to use with Julia? Personally I like VSCode and JupyterLab, thus if either of them support Julia that would be good. But if there’s a better IDE for Julia (for example, in the case of R the best IDE is clearly RStudio) I’m open to suggestions. Thanks!

Best Regards

Andrea

1 Like

There is a great extension for vs code https://www.julia-vscode.org
and also a Julia kernel for jupyter https://github.com/JuliaLang/IJulia.jl

Both are well maintained and work great!

9 Likes

Many use VSCode so if you like that I suggest you use that (see https://www.julia-vscode.org/ for the Julia plugin).

Last years survey (page 16) show that 35% of users use VSCode, but since that survey development for Juno (40%) have stopped and I think most of those users have moved to VSCode. I would thus guess >50% use VSCode.

But of course you should really use Vim.

15 Likes

Very good! VSCode can act as a Jupyter server, thus using the Julia VS Code extension may give me access to the best of both worlds. I’ll go for it! Thanks

2 Likes

Cool. I have never tried the combination but sounds great. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Many use VSCode so if you like that I suggest you use that

Ok!

Last years survey (page 16) show that 35% of users use VSCode, but since that survey development for Juno (40%) have stopped and I think most of those users have moved to VSCode.

Not only users, but Juno developers too! See for yourself:

Attention : We have decided to join forces with the Julia extension for VSCode. As such, this Atom-based plugin is effectively in “maintenance-only mode” and we expect to only work on bug fixes in the future.

But of course you should really use Vim.