I don't understand why or how y(:,i) = x creates a function

I’m very new to Julia, but not to coding, having spent the last decade or so mostly in Matlab (and a variety of other languages stretching back to the mists of time…). So I’ve been toying around with some simple projects in Julia, and I’ve run into something I don’t understand. Here’s a stripped version of the code:

function testret(n)
    y = zeros(Float64, n, n)
    for i=1:n
        x = ones(Float64,n) .* i
        y(:,i) = x
    end
    return y
end

In my Matlabese I wanted to assign to a slice of the y array. It took me some time to figure out that I need to use square brackets for this, but eventually I got there… however, I still don’t understand why the version above works, or what it really does.

julia> f  = testret(10)
(::var"#y#104"{Array{Float64,1}}) (generic function with 1 method)

So it looks the y(:,i) = x assignment creates a function of some kind (?). Values of f always return an array of 10s, so it’s only the last assignment that matters.

To make things even more confusing for me, if I replace y(:,i) = x with y(:,i) = ones(Float64,n) .* i the behavior subtly changes. First, original case (repeat output values omitted):

julia> f
(::var"#y#120"{Array{Float64,1}}) (generic function with 1 method)

julia> f(1,1)
10-element Array{Float64,1}:

julia> f(100,1)

julia> f(1,5)

and the second case:

julia> f
(::var"#y#116"{Int64}) (generic function with 1 method)

julia> f(1,1)

julia> f(100,1)

julia> f(1,5)

I obviously don’t understand something fundamental about Julia’s syntax here, so any pointers as to where I should look would be welcome!

You want y[:,i] = x. Square brackets are used for indexing.

1 Like