Mutating arrays inside function

Hello,

I am new to Julia and just trying out things and ran into something that I found unintuitive and wanted to understand the canonical way.

Basically, I am trying to pass in an array to a function and have the function modify the input array and not create any temporary objects. Here is a MWE:

function foo!(x, y)
    x = 2*x + y
end

function bar!(x, y)
    x[:] = 2*x + y
end

x = ones(10)
y = ones(10)

foo!(x,y)  # does not update x 

fill!(x, 1)
fill!(y, 1)

bar!(x,y) # updates x

function bar does what I want, but function foo does not. From reading around in Julia documentation, this seems to be expected behaviour that foo does not mutate the input, the assigned x (lhs) in foo is just a local temporary, which I find un-intuitive.

I know that I can do x = foo!(x,y) to get the correct behaviour, but IMO it seems unintuitive that you pass in an array to a function, but have to assign to x again.

If someone can maybe clarify this behaviour and the reason behind it, that would be helpful.

Thanks!

Hi @pratikvn, so the thing to understand here is that foo does not do any mutation, it is just re-binding a local variable.

In julia, variables are just labels that point to a piece of data. In this case, x is labelling an array, and when you write x = 2*x + y, you are saying something like "okay, create a new array 2x + y, and then relabel x such that the label x is used for that array instead. No underlying data is mutated.

Mutation in julia refers to changing the underlying data, rather than the label. So your bar function is instead creating the array 2*x + y and then writing the contents of that array into the array that x labels. No labels are changed.

Does that help clear up the confusion?

As for how to do what you want here, probably the best way to write this function would be to write

function baz!(x, y)
    x .= 2 .* x .+ y
end

which is basically just fancy syntax for a loop

for i in eachindex(x, y)