I can not understand the meaning of this sentence on the doc

Hi everyone
I’m new to programming. Julia is the first language I learn in principle.
I do not understand the meaning of the following text. If you please and explain to me, I will be grateful.

The size of the binary data item is the minimal needed size, if the leading digit of the literal is not 0 . In the case of leading zeros, the size is determined by the minimal needed size for a literal, which has the same length but leading digit 1 .— https://docs.julialang.org/en/v1/manual/integers-and-floating-point-numbers/

Welcome to the language and to programming! That sentence is a bit inscrutable (I probably wrote it long ago). It means that

• 0x1 and 0x12 are UInt8 literals,
  • 0x123 and 0x1234 are UInt16 literals,
  • 0x12345 and 0x12345678 are UInt32 literals,
  • 0x123456789 and 0x1234567890adcdef are UInt64 literals,
  • etc.

Even if there are leading zero digits which don’t contribute to the value, they count for determining storage size of a literal. So 0x01 is a UInt8 while 0x0001 is a UInt16. Hope that makes sense.

Btw, if you want to go all in and make your first open source contribution, you could take my explanatory text here and add it to the manual right after that paragraph :smiley:

7 Likes

I really appreciate your answer
I have another question. I do not know whether I have to put it here or I have to create a new topic?
My question:
Why does Julia convert 0x001 to 0x0001 or 0x00001 to 0x00000001?

I’m really embarrassed to say that, but my English is not very good, and I do not understand your meaning like this.

Btw, if you want to go all in and make your first open source contribution, you could take my explanatory text here and add it to the manual right after that paragraph

I apologize again for asking this.:pensive: