How to use an event driven architecture in Julia?

Hello everyone! I’m an equities and options trader with a basic understanding of Python and JavaScript. The little I’ve seen of Julia so far has been amazing and I’m hoping to explore working with financial data in Julia.

I’m now learning about event driven architecture and I’d like to know if it’s possible to use this approach in Julia?
If so, I’d really appreciate some ideas on how to do so.
Thank you.

3 Likes

Could you provide a link that explains the concept? Maybe it’s a standing term in some circles, but I’ve never heard of it and the name seems generic enough as to potentially lead to confusion!

1 Like

Probably this could be of interest to you GitHub - JuliaActors/Actors.jl: Concurrent computing in Julia based on the Actor Model

2 Likes

Yes, of course. Here’s a link https://gameprogrammingpatterns.com/event-queue.html

Based on several sources I’ve learned from, it seems that this architecture is widely used in game programming. In the examples I’ve seen, there is an event queue which stores all events passed on from the classes which handle specific tasks. This is all kept inside of an event loop.

1 Like

If working in a notebook is an option for you:

is reactive, i.e. all dependent cells are automatically updated if an input variable changes.
Planned enhancements include an (automatic) API so that the notebook and its reactivity can also be used by external programs (see Connor’s talk at Hello!).

2 Likes

Looks amazing! I’d seen the Pluto name come up while searching for other things but now that I had a chance to read about it, it’s certainly something I see myself using. Thanks for letting me know about this reactive notebook.

1 Like

See also Rocket.jl , it’s quite comprehensive. Also Transducers.jl

5 Likes

Hi,