How to think about indices and cartesian coordinates?

Hello everyone!

I am new to Julia and I am writing a simple simulation that uses a cartesian grid and numerical derivatives. I would like to confirm if my thinking is correct.

I start by defining simple grids for X, Y and a scalar field f which in this case is just Y.

n = 3
X = ones(Float64, n) * collect(1:n)'
Y = collect(1:n) * ones(Float64, n)'
f = Y

f is what I would expect:

3×3 Matrix{Float64}:
 1.0  1.0  1.0
 2.0  2.0  2.0
 3.0  3.0  3.0

That is, f[3,1] #=> 3

I also define a simple gradient function:

function ∇(q::Matrix{Float64})
    ∇q_x = zeros(n,n)
    ∇q_y = zeros(n,n)

for j in 2:n-1, i in 2:n-1
        ∇q_x[i,j] = (q[i,j+1] - q[i,j-1])/2
        ∇q_y[i,j] = (q[i+1,j] - q[i-1,j])/2
    end

Dict(:x => ∇q_x, :y => ∇q_y)
end

Is it correct to think of the first index (i) as the y direction, and the second index (j) as the x direction? That feels odd to me.
I understand it may just be a matter of convention, but when I try to visualize it, it does appear that Julia prefers it that way.

using Plots; gr()
heatmap(f, c=:blues)
quiver!(X, Y, quiver=(∇(f)[:x], ∇(f)[:y]), c=:white, linewidth=5)

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

I think this is more about how the plotting library does the heatmap (not julia itself). For example, in CairoMakie,

fig,ax = heatmap(ff, colormap=:blues)
arrows!(ax,X[1,:], Y[:,1], ∇(f)[:x], ∇(f)[:y], color=:white, linewidth=5)
fig

Produces this:

There is not a “correct” way for showing this, so that is why some libraries (even outside julia) have different approaches.

For Makie it has been discussed for example here:

heatmap permutes data · Issue #1791 · MakieOrg/Makie.jl · GitHub
Correct axes bug for heatmaps & images by IanButterworth · Pull Request #98 · JuliaPlots/AbstractPlotting.jl · GitHub
X / Y axes swapped in heat map · Issue #295 · MakieOrg/Makie.jl · GitHub
Resolved: Heatmap transposes matrices · Issue #205 · MakieOrg/Makie.jl · GitHub