How to setup Julia workers to use specific number of cores?

I am a beginner, so I am trying my best to describe my issue as clearly as possible.

I installed julia 1.2.0 in a windows 2012 with 2 CPU/socket (22 cores in each CPU) and 512GB RAM.
I am wondering whether I can start Julia workers to fully utilize the cores and config each worker with specific number of cores. I have the following code to start multiple workers

using Distributed

x= 44
addprocs(x+1-length(procs()))
then use @everywhere to load codes into the workers
then use remotecall to run the program in each worker
for i=1:nworkers() ; remotecall(func,workers()[i]) ; end

my observation was that if I do not use distributed, main process uses all my physical cores (50% of my logical cores, so OS task manager shows 50% usage), but when I use distributed, each worker only uses 1 core and there is no way to specify number of cores for each worker. it is very beneficial to me if I can do that since my worker processes different data so resource requirement is different.

thanks!

1 Like

@indycdrom - I think you are describing the difference between (I am oversimplifying) Distributed (across CPUs) and Threads (across Cores). If you start up Julia with multiple threads (see JULIA_NUM_THREADS in the docs), you should be able to get multiple Cores running on each of your workers.

Why not upgrade from 1.2 to Julia 1.3 ?
So you can use “composable multi-threaded parallelism”!
see more: Announcing composable multi-threaded parallelism in Julia

1 Like

Oh, geez - I missed that. :slight_smile: I assumed he was already on 1.3

thanks for the response. I will give 1.3 a try.

as I said, I am a beginner so I wish someone can provide a little more detail or sample codes which can really save my day.