How to run a function inside a julia script from bash

I’m just starting out and can’t seem to find how to run a function inside a julia script from a bash prompt.

so if I have a script ( below) print_it.jl and want to print out “hello world” using the function print_out how do I do that please using a bash shell. I have completely failed trying to look this up.

$julia print_it.jl

function nothing()
      println("nothing")
end

function print_out( ARGS[1])
             println(  ARGS[1]   )
end

I know I can do it like this

function print_out( print_arg )
             println(  print_arg   )
end

print_out( ARGS[1])

but I was wondering if

$julia print_it.print_out().jl  "hello world"  

should work’

The short answer is, first that your script should look like this:

function nothing()
    println("nothing")
end

function print_out()
    println(ARGS[1])
end

And you can call it with a argument like this:

julia -e "include(\"./hello.jl\"); print_out()" -- "hello world"

The long answer is that this is, of course, excendendly complicated, because it is not the way you should be developing in Julia.

In Julia, do the following:

1. Create your script, for example, like this:
function print_out(x)
    println(x)
end
  1. Open a Julia REPL and do:
julia> include("./hello.jl")
print_out (generic function with 1 method)

julia> print_out("hello world")
hello world

Now, better, install Revise, and do:

julia> using Revise

julia> includet("./hello.jl") # note the "t" in includet

hello world

The cool thing now is that if you modify the script and save it, and just run the function print_out again without leaving the REPL, the modification of the function will be taken into account.

I have some personal notes on this here and here. Of course you will find much more information in other sources, like here and in the docs of the Revise package, for example.

Edit: One alternative to the “first answer” is to call the function from within the script, for example: