How to properly specify maximum interations in Optimization?

Hello,

I am pretty new to Julia and SciML. I have a question about how to specify the maximum iterations in Optimzation.jl. I read the documentation and tried different combinations of maxiters, iterations, etc. So far it does not work. For example, in the following line of code, I tried to set maxiters=400 and iterrations=500. But the optimizer ran to about 1000 iterations so far. These keyward arguments seem ignored. I must understood the documentation wrong some how.

res = Optimization.solve(optprob, Optim.BFGS(), maxiters=400;iterations=500)

Thanks.

The (L-)BFGS - Optim.jl (julianlsolvers.github.io) solver requires the gradient to be calculated at every step. Calculating the gradient requires an additional evaluation of the function being minimized to inform which direction the next guess should be in. So, if you set a particular number N of iterations of the optimization process and use a gradient-required solver, you should expect that function to be evaluated 2N times.

1 Like

Thanks for you quick reply. I am still confused. For (L-)BFGS, the optimization formula is

x_{n+1} = x_{n} - P^{-1} \nabla f(x_n)

What I really want is to put a upper limit on n. My ODE problem f(x) is very expensive to solve. Sometime I just want to get some “good enough” parameter estimation after say n = 100 iterations. “maxiter” does not seem to work.

That formula requires knowledge of \nabla f(x_n), the gradient of your function at some particular parameter x_n. So, if the solver is currently situated at some point x_n in parameter space, it needs to calculate the gradient at its local position in order to determine where x_{n+1} should be. How does the solver calculate this gradient? Commonly: