How to profile Julia MPI code?

How do people usually profile Julia MPI code to find bottlenecks and reduce communication overhead?

As an MPI noob I thought there would be some profiler tools out (kinda like cuprof and NVIDIA Nsight) there but they seem to be mostly proprietary (e.g. TotalView, Arm MAP) and probably overkill for our use case since we’re not running with thousands of ranks yet.

Looks like there may be some open-source language-independent tools like http://www.hpctoolkit.org/ and https://github.com/LLNL/mpiP which I might try looking into.

EDIT: Right now just trying to profile CPU MPI code, but definitely looking to profile GPU/CUDA-aware MPI code in the near future.

2 Likes

I would love to see graphs like in this paper by Parry Husbands and Kathy Yelick: https://upc.lbl.gov/publications/husbands-lu-sc07.pdf Figures 4 and 5. I imagine one can easily instrument the MPI, added the timers, and then log it all - one could produce various nice visualizations like we do with our profilers. I think they wrote some custom tooling for the charts in that paper.

We could do similar tricks as libblastrampoline to make this all nice and easy for MPI, but @staticfloat says ABI issues in MPI prevent this.

I think Dagger.jl has some of this tooling now. I am sure I have seen pictures of such MPI communication visualizers at conferences that make me feel like there are products that do this and I found this SO thread: openmpi - Visualizing communication pattern of MPI processes - Stack Overflow

-viral

2 Likes