How to plot ~10 billion datapoint time series efficiently?

Hi, I am relatively new to Julia.
I have a physics model that I implemented in Julia. I solve the differential equations to track the orbit of two blackholes over a period of about 5 years with very small time step. My output has ~10 billion elements which I want to plot. What is the best (fastest and memory efficient) way to do this in Julia?

I don’t need to zoom in or interact with my plot. I have tried gr() and inspectdr() backends for Plots.jl and I have also tried CairoMackie backend for Mackie but they just aren’t giving me the performance. pyplot() backend is the fastest that I have tested but that too is useful only up to 1e8 datapoints. I want to go to 1e10 datapoints.

Edit: I can’t use adaptive time-step to reduce the number of datapoints while solving my diff eq because that gives me uneven time steps. I have to take the FFT of my solution which doesn’t work with uneven time steps.

1 Like

It makes no sense to plot that many points. No one can see them. Compute a density distribution and plot that.

12 Likes

would someone show how that might be done?

1 Like

Putting plotting aside for a moment, several solutions exist for handling uneven timesteps: you could use a nonuniform FFT as provided by FINUFFT.jl or FastTransforms.jl, or use the DiffEq.jl solution interpolation interface to resample onto a uniform grid.

5 Likes

That would occupy about 80GB of memory, so probably you can’t even load that trajectory in memory.

Can’t you just sample less frequently?

(You don’t need to save every times step of the simulation)

1 Like