How to obtain numerical values of observed variables after structural simplification?

Hi there. I am quite new to Julia and sorry if this question is too silly, but here it goes.

I have used the modelingtoolkitize function to convert my discretized PDE to symbolic form and then used the strucutural_simplify function followed by the ODAEProblem to convert it into an ODE. I have observed an incredible speedup in the solution time (25x) and I am very impressed!

In the original PDE discretization I have 248 variables. After structural_simplify and alias_elimination, the solve() gives me back 246 “state variables”. I can “access” the other 2 variables via sys.observed, however, they are symbolic equations and they are the most important variables in my system.

Here is a picture of the Equation type after sys.observed command.

I have read the entire documentation and could not find a way to go from the “Equation” type to calculating these two variables X_62(t) and x_124(t) over time. Could someone give me a hint on this?

I can’t find the documentation for this, but the solution struct returned from the call to solve can be indexed by variable:

sol(t, idxs=[X_62, x_124])

Hey! I really appreciate your help and suggestion.

However, it seems that this method can only query variables returned from the solve() call. The problem is that x_62 and x_124 are not returned in the solve call when I use structural_simplify. They are separated from the other 246 variables (states) and are stored in the sys.observed as symbolic equations.

No, it can query observed variables.

Dear Chris,

First, thank you for your answer. I have been following your work and have to say thank you for all high-quality material you make available in the internet.

Despite your invaluable comments, I am not able to query observed variables in my problem.