How to Filter 2D Fourier Coefficients

I have a real 2D Array (Nx,Ny) of some variable, let’s say absolute vorticity. I perform a 2d fft on the matrix by:

fc_2d = FFTW.r2r(arr,FFTW.R2HC)

which returns a 2d matrix of the same size of Fourier coefficients.

I want to do a 2d low pass filter by zero-ing out the scales greater than wavenumber 3 for example. I read the documentation and I’m still a little confused about the format of fc_2d. Are both dimensions in half-complex format? If so, I think I would just zero out the Fourier coefficients corresponding to wavenumbers 4 and up in both dimensions?

ind = 4
# x filter
fc_2d[ind+1:Nx-ind+1,:] .= 0 
# y filter
fc_2d[:,ind+1:Nx-ind+1] .= 0

Sorry if this is really basic / does not make sense. I am new to Julia and spectral analysis. Thanks.

The R2HC format in 2d is pretty tricky to comprehend, I would recommend starting with a simple complex fft and then moving to the r2c format once you understand that in order to take advantage of the real input. (The R2HC transforms are typically slower than r2c, anyway.)

1 Like

That seems a job for GMT.jl grdfft but unfortunately we don’t yet have a manual tailored for the Julia wrapper (though the grdfft is wrapped). So far, mos complete manual is still the CLI version

1 Like

Using a r2c transform as suggested by @stevengj, you could do something like:

using FFTW

# Domain dimensions
Lx = 2π
Ly = 2π

# Grid size
Nx = 32
Ny = 32

# Wavenumbers (note: r2c transform is along the first dimension, so we use rfftfreq in x)
kx = rfftfreq(Nx, 2π * Nx / Lx)  # only contains non-negative wavenumbers (kx ≥ 0)
ky = fftfreq(Ny, 2π * Ny / Ly)

arr = rand(Nx, Ny)
fc_2d = FFTW.rfft(arr)  # perform real-to-complex (r2c) transform
summary(fc_2d)          # 17×32 Matrix{ComplexF64}

# Zero-out Fourier coefficients associated to wavenumbers |k_i| > kmax in each direction.
kmax = 3
for i ∈ eachindex(kx)
    if abs(kx[i]) > kmax
        fc_2d[i, :] .= 0
    end
end
for j ∈ eachindex(ky)