How to do in-place matrix operation in Julia?

Hi, I’m new to Julia, and this is the first post to this forum.

I have problems regarding in-place matrix operations in julia.
I have to calculate matrix-matrix product in for-loop, and I tried to pre-allocate the memories, before the for-loop, as follows::

function test_1(N)
    a = rand(Float64, N, N)
    b = rand(Float64, N, N)
    c = Matrix{Float64}(undef, N, N)
    for i in 1:500
        mul!(c, a,b) ## inplace calculation of matrix matrix product
    end
end

I confirmed that this mitigates the memory allocation and increases efficiency, compared to the case where allocating memory in each step like below

function test_2(N)
    a = rand(Float64, N, N)
    b = rand(Float64, N, N)
    for i in 1:500
        c = a*b
    end
end

This was an easy task, because of the very simple matrix operation.
I want to generalize this into more complex matrix operations, like C = AB - BA.
How can I do this?

You might like Tullio.jl.

Do

C .= mul!(X1, A, B) .- mul!(X2, B, A)

where X1 and X2 are additional temporary arrays.

3 Likes

Thanks!. I tried Tullio.jl, and it indeed reduces the cost of memory allocation, but the matrix multiplication in this method was much slower than the conventional operation.
Anyway, I didn’t know this tool, and it might be helpful in other processes.
Thank you so much!

Or, with even fewer temporary arrays,

mul!(C, B, A)
mul!(C, A, B, 1.0, -1.0)
8 Likes

If you want Tullio to be faster you should add LoopVectorization.

1 Like

Thank you so much. I understand your suggestion. But in that case, we have to prepare several temporary arrays to calculate more complex matrix operations.
Is there any way to do that more easily and generally while keeping efficiency? (operation AB - BA was just an example, and I have to calculate more complex operations)