How to distribute computation over different CPU's of my desktop

Hi!
I am doing some work in simulation which requires numerical integration over high-dimensional differential equations, most of it uses functions from the DynamicalSystems.jl module.
However, the computation gets slow on my desktop. Is there a way to parallelize the computation over the different CPU’s of my machine (** its an octa-core processor ) ? I’m new to this language and have very little knowledge of parallelizing programs.

Thanks!

Are you sure that you have maxed out the single thread performance of your code? Parallelization tends to scale less than linearly, so you might be lucky if you get a 3-4x speedup, while there are lots of performance pitfalls which could lead to an order of magnitude slowdown.

1 Like

Hi !
Is there way to know that I have maxed out performance limit on a single thread ?

Your best bet would be to profile the single threaded code and see where it’s spending most of its time

1 Like

thanks! could you just elaborate a little,
please.

Have a look at the docs on profiling there are a number of different add on tools for visualization of the profile information. Several are mentioned in the docs.

https://docs.julialang.org/en/v1/manual/profile/

Not in general, but as @dlakelan says profiling can help you understand where the most potential for optimization might be found. Do you have any particular reason for saying the “computation gets slow”, i.e. benchmarks from similar models in Julia or other languages that run materially faster than what you are seeing, or some theoretical results on the expected runtime?

Also make sure you have read, understood, and applied all of the Performance Tips · The Julia Language

Hi @pafloxy ,
this would be the entrypoint in the julia documentation to parallel computing: Parallel Computing · The Julia Language