How to create an exe file from julia code?

Hi all,
I am new to julia. I just started loving this language at first sight, Elegant ! My area of interest is windows desktop applications. I just set up all the beginning steps in atom and execute my Hello World app. But now, i want to convert this code to an exe file. There is no use of julia for me if i cannot create an exe file. Please help me.

4 Likes

this is the most feared question of the community at the moment, there’s no ‘real-world usable’ approach – just like python, unless you just ask user to have python or course. The closest you can get is: GitHub - JuliaLang/PackageCompiler.jl: Compile your Julia Package

also see discussion here:

3 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply. I have read the instructions on the github page of PackageCompiler. But some points are not very clear,
Where i need to put the ArgParse ? I am strck without proper information
My cmd window says that Package PackageCompiler is not found in current path. I dont know wich path. I am confused. Please help.

Lot of information are given in github page of PackageCompiler. But i didnt understand that where i can use the "build_executable(“hello.jl”, “hello”) command. In CMD or in Julia prompt ?

Hi, it’s Julia prompt

I have tried but it does not work.

Why do you NEED an exe? (Just curious.)

1 Like

@PetrKryslUCSD, exe file are very useful to share tools with people that are not computer scientist and have never done a single program. Moreover some packages are not always retro compatible and a software can stop running after an update. (the problem is the same with R). For this reason I often make the choice to use Go and cross-compilation instead of Julia (even if I program faster in Julia).

11 Likes

This is why we have Manifest.toml files, that allow to specify exactly the version of the package we would like to use.