Not only for technical computing: changing the narrative around the usecase for Julia

Hi. I’m a relatively new member of the community, and I really only started to dig into Julia in the past few months. I had poked at it a few years ago because I found the initial announcement so intriguing. Here’s a list of things I like in programming:

• Lisp and metaprogramming
  • Haskell and awesome type systems
  • The write- and readability of Python (and that ecosystem, of course)
  • String processing in Perl
  • Interfaces for working with process calls (I’ve written a couple myself)
  • Making stuff go fast with C
  • Unix-style programming

Sound familiar? So, as you might imagine, the initial announcement hit all the right points for me. I messed with it a little, found some things that were weird to me but I couldn’t be bothered to figure them out, plus, Julia was really just a language for technical computing, and I’m a professional string mangler, so what’s the point, right?

At some point last year, I sort of started to look into it again because I was fairly fascinated by how well thought-out the command literals in the language are, and I thought it might be a more elegant way to replace Bash scripts than doing Python rewrites. (it was, by far)

My experiences inspired me to begin working on a tutorial for administrative scripting with Julia, based loosely on a similar one I wrote for Python.

Since then, I’ve also used it for small string processing and parsing jobs at work, where the thing I needed to do was very simple, but I needed to do it about 800,000,000 times. I’ve used it to solve Advent of Code puzzles (very helpful for getting a feel for the language) and I’m working on using Julia to wrap Raptor, an RDF parser in C.