How to create all possible k-mers with a set of alphabets?

I am trying to use Iterators.product to generate a list of all possible k-mers with a set of alphabets. Since I am a biologist, these letters happen to be the bases of DNA :smiley: : “ATGC”

If I want to generate 3-mers then this works perfectly:

nucs = "ATGC"
join.(Iterators.product(nucs,nucs,nucs))
4×4×4 Array{String, 3}:
[:, :, 1] =
 "AAA"  "ATA"  "AGA"  "ACA"
 "TAA"  "TTA"  "TGA"  "TCA"
 "GAA"  "GTA"  "GGA"  "GCA"
 "CAA"  "CTA"  "CGA"  "CCA"

[:, :, 2] =
 "AAT"  "ATT"  "AGT"  "ACT"
 "TAT"  "TTT"  "TGT"  "TCT"
 "GAT"  "GTT"  "GGT"  "GCT"
 "CAT"  "CTT"  "CGT"  "CCT"

[:, :, 3] =
 "AAG"  "ATG"  "AGG"  "ACG"
 "TAG"  "TTG"  "TGG"  "TCG"
 "GAG"  "GTG"  "GGG"  "GCG"
 "CAG"  "CTG"  "CGG"  "CCG"

[:, :, 4] =
 "AAC"  "ATC"  "AGC"  "ACC"
 "TAC"  "TTC"  "TGC"  "TCC"
 "GAC"  "GTC"  "GGC"  "GCC"
 "CAC"  "CTC"  "CGC"  "CCC"

However, if I want to extend the same method for longer words, I have to keep repeating “nucs” as the arguments for Iterators.product. What I would like is a smart way where I specify the word size and I generate all possible words of that size. So far, I tried this:

join.(Iterators.product(Iterators.repeated(nucs,3)))
3-element Vector{String}:
 "ATGC"
 "ATGC"
 "ATGC"

I tried with fill too:

join.(Iterators.product(fill(nucs,1,3)))
join.(Iterators.product(fill(nucs,3)))

but I get the same output.

Using collect(nucs) instead of nucs also doesn’t give me the desired output

Any solutions?

Is

what you are looking for?

Answer: No, OP is looking for solution below using Iterators.product with splatting.

I am looking for combinations of strings as I described. Thanks for the suggestion. Can you tell me which function I can use from this library to get what I want?

join.(Iterators.product(Iterators.repeated(nucs,3)...))

may be what you are looking for. Notice the ... compared to what you suggested: this is called splatting.