How does instance of a type works/interact with type parameters?

Hi everyone,

I am studying the code from repo ReinforcementLearningAnIntroduction.jl.
In notebook Chapter01_Tic_Tac_Toe.jl, there is this line that confuses me

E = DefaultStateStyleEnv{Observation{Int}()}(env)

Why can we pass Observation{Int}() in to the brace of DefaultStateStyleEnv{}?

From my understanding, the stuff inside the brace {} should be some kind of type (e.g. DataType) or literal values, but Observation{Int}() is an instance of Observation{Int64}

typeof(Observation{Int}()) # Observation{Int64}
typeof(typeof(Observation{Int}()))  # DataType

For example, these will not work

# they will produce
# ERROR: TypeError: in Array, in element type, expected Type, got a value of type Float64
Array{1.0, 1}();
x=()->1.0; Array{x(), 1}()

So what is happening there?
I am guessing it is something to do with “UnionAll Types” and “Value types” but I couldn’t figure it out.

Thank you in advance.

(There is a 2 links max limit for new users, so I will paste the link to def of DefaultStateStyleEnv as raw text here https://github.com/JuliaReinforcementLearning/ReinforcementLearning.jl/blob/2e1de3e5b6b8224f50b3d11bba7e1d2d72c6ef7c/src/ReinforcementLearningEnvironments/src/environments/wrappers/DefaultStateStyle.jl#L7-L11)

Int aliases Int64 on 64-bit systems and aliases Int32 on 32-bit systems.

julia> Int
Int64
julia> typeof(Int64)
DataType
julia> typeof(Int)
DataType

Any type can be a parameter in the brace, it does not have to be an instance of DataType, e.g. Vector{Union{Int, Nothing}}.
Or are you referring to something else?

Hi, yes I was referring to something else, specifically:
Why can we pass Observation{Int}() in to the brace of DefaultStateStyleEnv{}

I have edited my question to make it clearer.
And thanks for the help!

From here: Types · The Julia Language