Help with Advent of Code exercise

Hi!
I started to learn Julia by solving Advent of Code exercises from previous years. My background is R but I’m a hobbyist dealing mostly with text mining for fun.
So far everything is fun and games, I go through AoC 2020 and I’m at day 6. Now, I have following task (paraphrased, hopefully correctly):

1. My input contains chunks of strings in lines.
  2. The chunks are separated by empty lines.
  3. I’m supposed to count all unique occurrences of lowercase letters for each chunk.
  4. And sum up the occurrences for each chunk as the result.

(two first chunks in my input file:)

fekdcbayqxnwvh
fycwqktvxandeb
kqbafvcxyewrdn
akwqcvenxfydbs
ewbaxdcvnkyfq

timjneyhbvxkfagdpzrous
gsumijvxoheptbafnkyzrd
yxtbnupramvdezhkfojsig
soaruhxnpiemjvytzbfdkg
vfanlgjoiskzmubtxhceyprd

Guided by the manual and Stack Overflow I ended up with following code. My plan:

1. Create a vector vec of vectors (chunks). Nested vectors (chunks) contain strings (lines) of my input.
  2. Loop through the elements of nested vectors (strings/lines) and find all occurrences of each letter with countmap function using StatsBase. I’ve got a dictionary as a result.
  3. For each chunk merge the dictionaries mapcounted for separate line. That will give me occurrences of each letter for a chunk as a merged dictionary.
  4. Count elements of merged dictionaries, ignoring number of occurrences. I’m going for number of unique letters.
  5. Sum up counted elements of merged dictionaries for each chunk.

My problem - the number I’m getting is too high and I don’t know what’s wrong with my reasoning and/or my code.

The code:

I’d be very grateful if someone could advise me on what I’m doing wrong and push me in the right direction.

Hello and welcome to the Julia community!