Help to find package for DSA (Discrete Stochastic Arithmetic) implementation

Hi, I’m working in a project where we use DSA method (based-on CESTAC) to validate results of numerical software. Currently, I’m using Cadna (written in C) to solve this problem. The advantage of Cadna is it has example for CUDA implementation instead of just CPU like other tools.
I’m looking for a package in Julia that match my requirements:

• Good CUDA support for half and bfloat16
  • Implement DSA or relevant mathematical approach. (I’m still new to DSA so I guess, there is other techniques to solve numerical validation problem).

The package StochasticArithmetic.jl seems not maintain anymore and only support SFloat64. Is there any expert out there have experience in this field? I really need an suggestion, thank you.

Hi, I’d be happy to revive StochasticArithmetic.jl if you have some interest in it. However, I don’t know much about GPUs, and haven’t the slightest clue how to implement DSA (or any form of Stochastic Arithmetic) in a GPU-compatible way.

I’d advise you to also look at @milankl’s work, especially StochasticRounding.jl. It’s not exactly DSA/CESTAC, but I tend to favour this kind of stochastic arithmetic these days, and this ecosystem is much more alive than my own StochasticArithmetic.jl. I don’t know whether StochasticRounding.jl supports GPUs, though.

2 Likes

I don’t know whether StochasticRounding.jl supports GPUs, though.

I haven’t tested whether or which issues arise on a GPU, if someone can test it, and open issues in StochasticRounding.jl then I’d be happy to address them!