Help needed for improving the performance of a simple table-lookup-function (~hashing) in a chess-engine

Hi,

I’m in the process of migrating my basic chess-engine from java to julia.

As I’m still very new to julia, I decided to start evaluating some design choices early to increase learning-opportunities. In particular, I need to find appropriate data-structures to perform the bread-and-butter tasks of my engine in the most efficient way, that is naturally achievable, in julia.

Note, that performance is one of the pillars of a chess-engine’s strength, the other being effective pruning of the search-space. Any strong chess-engine can’t do without trying hard to optimize both of those aspects.

In particular, the engine implements traditional alpha-beta search (with modern refinements), that is: Sequentially traversing a tree of chess-positions in a (assumed) best-first (depth-first) manner and while doing so, successively narrowing down the expectations of an expected best overall evaluation of the current position, according to an eval-algo, which is (only ever!) applied at the leaves. “Leaf”, here, either means a terminal node in the tree (won / lost / tied position, where no further moves are possible) OR a node at the maximum search-depth of the current search (which can vary, according to expectations and fluctuations of parameters within a particular subtree).

More specifically, traversing the tree depth-first and applying heuristics (=move-ordering) means, that at every position (node) in the tree, (all) legal moves (edges) have to be generated and (according to some heuristics) one best move is picked (and executed in a simulation), first, to get to the next-deeper position (node), and so on. When returning to a node, not all other sibling-nodes are ever evaluated, but a significant amount of them is usually (hopefully!) pruned away from the search-tree.