Handcalcs.jl - For more readable calculations

Hello Julia community!

I am excited to announce my first registered package Handcalcs.jl! This package is inspired by the handcalcs.py package in python.

It is designed to be used in either jupyter or pluto. It will render your algebraic equations in latex. It will also evaluate them! See example below:

Here are the docs for it: Handcalc.jl docs

I am new to Julia so the doc(stable) button isn’t working. If someone could help with that, I would greatly appreciate it.

90 Likes

Oh wow:

Future plans are to integrate the package with Unitful.jl, be able to render the algebraic expressions within a function, and many other things. This package is an extension of Latexify.jl.

This is fantastic! Great work @co1emi11er! I’ll give it a whirl one of these days for some of my literate documents I write with Weave.jl and Quarto!

3 Likes

This already looks amazing.

Regarding your future plans:

A macro that will generate LaTeX for a function that was called. The generated
LaTeX would be the algebraic equations within the function.

My ultimate wish for this type of functionality is to be able to pull simple equation sets from different sources and use them together showing my work at the destination:

using Handcalcs, Smith1993, Jefferson2020
a=3
b=4
@handcalcs y = Smith1993.y(a)     # show LaTeX for y equation defined in package
@handcalcs z = Jefferson2020.z(b) # show LaTeX for z equation defined in package
@handcalcs c = y + z              # just show simple LaTeX addition

I structure my code like this now because:

1. I can keep a master copy of my reference equations separately from all the reports that will use them. This avoids a lot of boilerplate and copy-paste errors.
  2. I can easily update or swap reference equations for all future reports with a dependency change.
  3. It makes clear in the report where I am coming up with my equations.