Gridded value at specific coordinate

I’m quite new to Julia.

Suppose you have a 1D gridded data, say, temperature, [23.5, 20.0, . . . ], defined at gridpoints xs = [1.0, 2.0, 5.0, . . . ]. Assume that length(temperature) == length(xs) and that xs is monotonic.

Now, I want an interpolated value of temperature at x = 3.0, say. I’m aware of the Interpolations package and have used it once. So, basically, I can write a program to achieve my goal. But, I will be doing this a lot, so I’d like to know

1. Is there already a library for this?
  2. If not, what would be a good design strategy for this library?

If possible, I would like an interface like temperature[x = 3.0] to get the (interpolated) value at x = 3.0.

The above example is for a 1D variable T(x) but I use up to 5D variables. I would like a few choices for interpolation scheme like “nearest” and “linear”. I would need missing values be handled gracefully and reasonably.

. . . sounds like quite an undertaking. . . .

Could you explain more what you don’t like about Interpolations? Say we take the flow of this QuantEcon example

There we have pretty much the interface that you seem to be asking for:

# cubic spline interpolation
interp_cubic = CubicSplineInterpolation((xs, ys), A)
@show interp_cubic(3, 2) # exactly log(3 + 2)
@show interp_cubic(3.1, 2.1) # approximately log(3.1 + 2.1);
2 Likes

I illustrate my imaginary use case below. Perhaps using a 2D gridded data is clearer as an example:

ds = Dataset("somedatafile.nc", "r") # netCDF file
temp = ds["temperature"]  # read 2D array
xs = ds["x_axis"] # read the x axis
ys = ds["y_axis"] # read the y axis
temp_on_grid  = GriddedData(temp, xs, ys) #<- This is what I want.
plot(ys, temp_on_grid[x = 3.0]) # plot the x=3 section of temp.

So, I want to hide the interpolator behind an operation like “[x = 3.0]”.

The above is a fictitious Julia code. In real Julia, you can easily plot an i-th section:

plot(ys, temp[2,:])