Grid Interpolation of Data from Polar-Orbiting Satellites

Hi all,

I’ve been coding for a little over two years now, but it has mostly been to make plots and perform simple calculations. Most other times, I have colleagues who also code in Julia and have codes/functions/packages that simplified my coding experience. So I’m not that familiar with the technical jargon and I apologize beforehand if my explanation about my issue doesn’t make sense.

I’m trying to compile a database of hurricane-centered, passive microwave-based products from polar-orbiting satellites. Below is an example of one case, but I’m generalizing my code to apply to other cases. What I’ve done so far is converted the pixel location, originally in the form of latitude and longitude of the satellite pixel, to distance from the storm center. Below is an example of the surface precipitation field from Hurricane Matthew (2016) before and after I interpolated the distance.

Before I explain my issue, I have to first explain the data structure. The variables from the satellite product are given in terms of m x n dimension, where m corresponds to the cross track pixels and n corresponds to the along track scan. The cross-track pixels are perpendicular to the satellite trajectory as it traverses the earth, where the satellite scans along an arc. The along track scan is essentially how many cross-track scans are made, and is parallel to the trajectory of the satellite. All the variables from this dataset is given in this dimension, including the lat/lon (which I have converted to x and y having the same dimension).

So, if I want to plot the same data as above using PyPlot, but focusing on one or the other dimension, here’s what the code would look like:

# Remove missing/fill values
var[findin(var, -9999.0)] = NaN;

plt.subplot(1,2,1)
# Focus on cross-track pixels from index 20 to 22 for all along-track scan
plt.contourf(x[20:22, :], y[20:22, :], var[20:22, :], levels=(0:70))

plt.subplot(1,2,2)