Good Practises for making performant DSL's? (My Dissertation Topic)

Hiya,

I’m currently a final year student and my supervisor is into scientific computing. He has a tool that makes heavy use of a DSL written into python and he wants me to investigate whether writing DSL’s in Julia are quicker than python.

I have attempted to write my very first basic DSL which just does symbolic differentiation for basic algebraic expressions, which can be found here: https://github.com/AndrewMonteith/DSLs/blob/master/algebra.jl. I tried to make heavy use of the type system and multiple dispatch to make my language compact (Is this a good idea normally?)

In the code I linked, I’m confused about the behavior of the bottom 2 statements.
Line 122: 27 allocations and 760 bytes.
Line 123: 10.8k allocations and 494kb.

Line 123 is only adding an additional term though, which I would have though is just a few more structs. So is there an exponential increase in allocations?

Further to my above question, I haven’t been able to find many resources on how to make good DSL’s. Any suggestions on resources/general tips for good DSL practices in Julia?

Cheers,
Andrew

My latest drive is actually to make DSLs by not having them be DSLs. For example, ModelingToolkit.jl is a compiler IR which can automatically translate numerical code in its IR to do DSL-like transformations.

http://tutorials.juliadiffeq.org/html/ode_extras/01-ModelingToolkit.html

Thus while there are DSLs like Pumas.jl which utilize ModlingToolkit.jl as its internal IR (so that multiple DSLs don’t have to re-write the same symbolic routines), there is in some sense no reason to require the user to write into a DSL if you can automatically perform program analysis on a (limited) form of standard code.