Function performance when passed as an argument vs. passed in a struct

I am new to Julia, but have looked at the manual and searched online, and can’t seem to find the answer to this question. Apologies if I have missed it.

Is there a recommended way to package together functions when calling another function without sacrificing performance?

Attempt at MWE below, with output:

31.843 ms (299492 allocations: 5.33 MiB)
1.875 ms (3 allocations: 781.34 KiB)

suggesting that passing a Function as an argument works well, but passing a Function as a member of a struct does not. If this is unavoidable, then it does quite significantly affect my design decisions. I am particularly interested in the ability to call user-defined functions very many times within a function. Ideally I would like to package functions into a struct (or some other container) so that function interface is kept relatively clean.

struct model
  f::Function
end

function alg1(m::model, n::Int64)
  array = Vector{Float64}(n)
  for i = 1:n
    array[i] = m.f(i)
  end
  return sum(array)
end

function alg2(f::Function, n::Int64)
    array[i] = f(i)
  end
  return sum(array)
end

function foo(i::Int64)
  return sin(i)
end

m = model(foo)

n = 100000

function test1()
  alg1(m,n)
end

function test2()
  alg2(foo,n)
end

using BenchmarkTools, Compat

@btime test1()
@btime test2()

I think the problem here is that Function is an abstract type. See performance tips: avoid fields with abstract type in the manual. You could do:

struct Model{F<:Function}
    f::F
end

to declare a family of model types, parameterized by the function type. This will allow code to specialize on the specific function, e.g. to inline the function.

You should maybe re-think this design. Creating a struct with a bunch of Function fields is very OOP-like, and OOP idioms are unnatural in Julia code.