Function Name Convention - General or Specific names?

Hey there!

I’ve just started using Julia, so I’m super new and overwhelmed by so much new information. So sorry if my question is superfluous.

What if I have two modules / “classes”:

GameBoard and GameRules

Both can have randomly generated “behavior” - so a randomly generated Board and randomly generated game rules.

Should I give them function names like: generateBoard() and generateRules() or generateBoard!(rules::GameRules) and generateRules!(rules::GameRules) ( I think style guide says generateboard() but I love lowerCamelCase so much. I’m German I appreciate capital letters :smiley: )

Normally I would name them kind of this, because I like names that are very specific, even with “normal” OOP - call me wrong, I’m still a CS student and don’t have too much experience. But I’m going to start reading “Clean Code”, so don’t give up hope on me! :smiley:

But for Julia I thought, I just could use generate() for all my “classes”/modules.
generate!(rules::GameRules)
generate!(board::GameBoard)

Probably you could do this in the constructor function of the struct, but my question is intended to be general.

I appreciate super-specific names, but with the method-oriented approach of Julia I see advantages of using very general/generic function names. What would you say, do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Are there any good ressources for such kind of questions?
I haven’t found anything in this forum.

Thank you for your precious time

Best Regards
Peter

First I would say choose a style you like and stick with it. Quite frankly I love snake case for function names, so that is what I use. You might like something else, whatever, use it!