Function generating functions

Hello together,

Maybe this question is kind of trivial, but since I’m a Julia newbie I hoped to find some help and/or advice here. :wink:
I would like to fit different functions to some data. They only differ by one parameter k. The following code does not run. It is rather a “statement of intent” to explain what my goal is:

function model(x, p, k)
    sum([p[i]*(x.^i/factorial(i)) for i in 1:k])
end

for i in 1:10
    fit = curve_fit(model(.,.,i), x, y)
    ... some more code ...
end

It worked to a point, where different …things where generate ( of type var"#574#576") These objects can be evaluated and yield some value if provided with arguments. But the curve_fit function does not like this type of object. I tried to use something like:

function m(k)
    return :((x,p) -> sum([p[i]*(x.^i./factorial(i)) for i in 1:k]))
end

for l in 1:10
    curve_fit(eval(m(l)), x, y)
    ... some code ...
end

I’d appreciate if someone could help me with this.

I think you nearly had it, but tried to make it more complicated than needed. If I get your point, you don’t really need metaprogramming (eval expressions, etc.) Just returning an anonymous function should be fine:

function m(k)
    return (x,p) -> sum([p[i]*(x.^i./factorial(i)) for i in 1:k])
end

for l in 1:10
    curve_fit(m(l), x, y)
    ... some code ...
end
2 Likes

As a new user, I’d also like to point out that use a comprehension with the [ ] isn’t necessary, and you can instead use the generator expression. So instead, you would do sum(p[i]*(x.^i./factorial(i)) for i in 1:k). Notice the brackets were removed. Multi-dimensional Arrays · The Julia Language

With the array comprehension with the brackets, the vector is allocated memory, calculated for each element, then it is summed. With the generated expression, it is calculated and summed without allocating any memory.

4 Likes