For loop error

Hi,
I’m still new to Julia, and am having problems with a for loop. I’m trying to create an array where each value is the former value minus another value. This is the code:

for i = 1:T 
     bal[i] = bal[i-1] - A[i]
end

where bal and A are arrays of the same size. The error I get is “MethodError: no method matching -(::VariableRef, ::Array{VariableRef,1})”

Please help, thanks!

It would be great if you could provide an MWE - the error is telling you that for the type of variables you’re using, a subtraction operation is not defined, but without more context it’s hard to say where these types come from and why (if at all) you’d need them.

1 Like

Oh alright, thanks for the link to the page as well. Here’s an MWE, I hope this would be enough.

using JuMP

m = Model()
T = 300

@variables(m, begin
    delta0 >= 0
    amort[i=1:T] >= 0
	bal[0:T] >= 0
end)

amort = delta0/T
bal[0] = delta0

bal[i] = bal[i-1] - amort
end

If there is a better way to do this please let me know.

Thanks!

Running your code seems to fail with a different error for me

bal[i] = bal[i-1] - amort
end

ERROR: MethodError: Cannot `convert` an object of type GenericAffExpr{Float64,VariableRef} to an object of type VariableRef
Closest candidates are:
  convert(::Type{T}, ::T) where T at essentials.jl:154
  VariableRef(::Any, ::Any) at C:\Users\####\.julia\packages\JuMP\ibcEh\src\variables.jl:99

So what’s happening here is:

julia> typeof(bal)
JuMP.Containers.DenseAxisArray{VariableRef,1,Tuple{UnitRange{Int64}},Tuple{Dict{Int64,Int64}}}

julia> typeof(bal[0])
VariableRef

julia> typeof(amort)
GenericAffExpr{Float64,VariableRef}

julia> typeof(bal[0] - amort)
GenericAffExpr{Float64,VariableRef}

Subtracting amort from an element in your bal array produces an object of type GenericAffExpr{Float64, VariableRef}, which then can’t be assigned to the JuMP DenseAxisArray which is expecting an object of type VariableRef