Flux vs Knet for research and production

I’m new to AI in julia, and to AI in general, but still want to make the best decision or at least know the reason for choice. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both packages for production and also research. I have heard and seen on some old blogs and reddit that Flux is more Keras like, does that limit in in any way?
Thank you for advice.

I find KNet.jl to be much better than Flux.jl.
While the latter get all the attention and hype, KNet.jl just works.
I find it simpler and more stable. It doesn’t try to solve bigger problem than being a good DL framework.

As far as I know, Flux and Knet share a lot of code through CUDA.jl and nnlib.jl, so to me the biggest difference seems to be the AD engines, and which API fits your personal preference more.

For my research Flux with Zygote.jl is ideal since Zygote can differentiate pretty much any Julia code and works with ChainRules.jl (which makes it easy to implement custom surrogate gradients for e.g. binary neural network or feedback alignment training). As far as I understand Knet, which uses Autograd.jl, can only backprop through functions with a predefined gradient (see the section “extending autograd”: https://github.com/denizyuret/AutoGrad.jl), so it is a bit less flexible. Depending on your use case this may or may not matter :slight_smile:

In terms of performance I think Knet used to be faster but I am not sure if that is still the case now that they both rely on CUDA.jl.

One other option is Avalon.jl, less talked about, and BetaML.jl (more for learning/pedagogical). See also: IBM’s AutoMLPipeline.jl and Lale.jl…