Knet vs MXNet for programmer new to ML

I’m an old programmer, but new to deep learning. I’ve done a lot of reading and simple tutorials to get a handle on the basics. I was getting ready to start a deep dive on the MXNet and Gluon documentation and tutorials with the hope that I will get a practical foundation of knowledge to build on and eventually do my own projects. I was excited to see that MXNet supported Julia, which led me to find Knet. I like the idea of a Julia based framework.

What do think about using Knet and Julia as a base to build a better understanding of the math and algorithms?

Is the Julia/Knet community active and responsive?

Are Knet/Julia’s tools mature enough that I’ll eventually be able to do real projects for clients without constantly running into limitations as compared to using something like MXNet and Python? I’m planning to ramp up over the next 5 months.

I apologize for the long post. Thanks!

The KNet and Flux community are both active and responsive and I would say there is hugh benefit in having one language (Julia) all the way down to learn Machine Learning.

I used to work with/on MXNet and I like it a lot more than let’s say Tensorflow, but I also ended up having to dive into the C++ part of MXNet to get my work done and back then I wished I could have used a pure Julia environment.

Your mileage might vary, but I would encourage you to give KNet and Flux a go!

6 Likes