Flux usage: Sending callback function to CPU on a separate thread

Hi there

I was trying to run the Vision vgg16 model in the model-zoo in Flux. https://github.com/FluxML/model-zoo/blob/master/vision/cifar10/cifar10.jl

I found that the performance on the GPU was quite slow - mainly due to the eager nature in which Flux allocates memory. So I modified the code to keep clearing memory as we go along, and it now takes about 1 minute per epoch - so whole training in < 1 hour.

To optimise further, and not block the GPU from running the callback evalcb function, I thought I would offload that function to the CPU. So far so good.

But I’m not an expert in this, and unfortunately, nothing is shown/printed on the callback for displaying loss.

Any ideas on how to do this please?

using Distributed
addprocs(2)

# Most of the code from the Model Zoo link....

function train(; kws...)
    # Initialize the hyperparameters
    args = Args(; kws...)

# Load the train, validation data 
    train, val, train_gpu, val_gpu = get_processed_data(args)

@info("Constructing Model")	
    # Defining the loss and accuracy functions
    m = vgg16()

loss(x, y) = logitcrossentropy(m(x), y)

## Training
    # Defining the callback and the optimizer
    function free_mem()
        GC.gc()
        CUDA.reclaim()
    end

function evalcb()
        m_cpu = m |> cpu
        remote_do(() -> @show(logitcrossentropy(m_cpu(val[1]), val[2])), 2)
    end

opt = ADAM(args.lr)
    @info("Training....")
    # Starting to train models
    Flux.@epochs args.epochs Flux.train!(loss, params(m), train_gpu, opt, cb = [free_mem, throttle(evalcb, 100)])

return m
end

The line remote_do(() → @show(logitcrossentropy(m_cpu(val[1]), val[2])), 2) is supposed to offload that computation to the CPU, but I don’t see any results in Jupyter.

Please help :slight_smile:

Output:

┌ Info: Constructing Model
└ @ Main In[149]:8
┌ Info: Training…
└ @ Main In[149]:27
┌ Info: Epoch 1