Fitting Sinusoidal Signal with LsqFit

Hi everyone, I have problems with fitting a sinusoidal signal with 4 parameters. Everything works just fine, if the Signal Frequency is under 800Hz. Above that Frequency the fitting is very bad (except for 802Hz and 804Hz), but I need to fit Data with a Frequency from 1Hz up to 50kHz (Sampling rate 250kHz for all measurements). The only way I get correct Results is to make the Difference between the Function Parameters (param) and the initial Values (p0) very small.

I am pretty new to Julia and I am wondering if there is a better way to fit sinusoidal Signals, so that the initial Values don’t have to be spot on? Or am I using the Function wrong?

I would be very grateful for any tips, Pkg suggestions or best practice examples. Thanks in advance!

using PlotlyJS
using LsqFit

sampling_rate = 250000
amplitude = 3
frequency = 800
angle = pi/3
offset = 2
# define Time Vector
vec_t = collect(range(start = 0, step = 1 / sampling_rate , stop = 1))
#_amplitude * cos(2 * pi * _frequency * _vec_t + _angle) +_offset;
@. model(t, p) = p[1] * cos((2 * pi * p[2]) * t + p[3]) + p[4]
# Create signal
param = [amplitude, frequency, angle, offset]
signal = model(vec_t, param) .+ 0.03 * randn(length(vec_t))
# Initial values for fit
p0 = [0.999 * amplitude, 1.001 * frequency, 0.999 * angle, 1.001 * offset]
# curve fit
fit = curve_fit(model, vec_t, signal, p0)
fitted_data = model(vec_t, fit.param)
n_points = trunc(Int, sampling_rate / frequency * 3)
Plot(hcat(signal[1 : n_points], fitted_data[1 : n_points]))

You could use the FFT to obtain a good initial guess of the sinusoidal frequency. See one such LsqFit example here.

3 Likes

You could also try making use of the ESPRIT method, see the docstring here for some examples

3 Likes